The Wrap: VICTOR Badminton Oceania Championships 2019

#VICsDoItBetter at #VOC2019

Badminton Victoria congratulates the Australian Open and Junior Badminton Teams on winning their respective Mixed Team Championships at the VICTOR Badminton Oceania Championships 2019 and Whyte Trophy match against New Zealand last week. We also congratulate all of our Victorian Shuttlers who competed in the individual events and snapped a few title-wins as well:

  • Sawan Serasinghe / Eric Vuong - Men's Doubles Winner

  • Gronya Somerville (with Setyana Mapasa (NSW)) - Women's Doubles Winner

  • Gronya Somerville (with Simon Leung (QLD)) - Mixed Doubles Winner

  • Kaitlyn Ea (with Angela Yu (QLD)) - Junior Women's Doubles Winner

  • Yingzi "Jenny" Jiang - Women's Singles Runner-Up

  • Yingzi "Jenny" Jiang / Louisa Ma - Women's Doubles Runners-Up

  • Sawan Serasinghe (with Lee Yen Khoo (SA)) - Mixed Doubles Runners-Up

  • Otto Zhao (with Ricky Tang (NSW)) - Junior Men's Doubles Runners-Up

  • Louisa Ma - Women's Singles Semi-Finalist

  • Jacob Schueler and Felix Wang - Men's Doubles Semi-Finalists

  • Marcus Kong - Junior Men's Singles Semi-Finalist

  • Dimitri Han / Daniel Hocking - Junior Men's Doubles Semi-Finalists

  • Marcus Kong (with Jack Yu (QLD)) - Junior Men's Doubles Semi-Finalists

With 4 championships packed in 1 week of elite badminton action, Badminton Victoria has been honoured to co-host with Badminton Oceania a number of significant highlights in the history of the Oceania Championships, including:

  • The largest amount of entries for both junior and open events in the history of the Badminton Oceania Championships

  • The largest range of country representation in the history of the Badminton Oceania Championships (9 countries: Australia, Cook Islands, Fiji, Guam, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Samoa, Tahiti and Tonga)

  • The most teams entered in the history of the Badminton Oceania Championships

  • Debut of teams and players from Samoa competing at the Badminton Oceania Championships

Wishing all the players, coaches and managers - from around Australia, Cook Islands, Fiji, Guam, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Samoa, Tahiti, Tonga on their success for the rest of the year!

Full results can be found here.


A big thank you to everyone from our badminton community who came out to watch or streamed the action online. We would also like to thank everyone who purchased a raffle ticket to win a car, as part of our fundraising campaign to support our Victorian Junior State Teams and in partnership with Knox Mitsubishi. See who won the car here.

We would also like to acknowledge our major sponsors and supporters who have helped make the event a successful one:

  • Badminton Oceania

  • Badminton Australia

  • Badminton World Federation


  • OVO Mobile

  • Knox Mitsubishi

  • Melbourne Sports and Aquatic Centre

  • State Government of Victoria

  • SONIQ and Cybercast

  • Pinakin Godse - Sports Physiotherapist

  • Melbourne Parkview Hotel

  • Quest St Kilda Bayside

And to a BIG thank you to our event team - the Referees, Umpires, Line Judges, Volunteers, Catering, Transport, Medical, Media, Match Control and Event Staff. Your support has been critical in making the event great. We have had positive feedback from the players, officials and our co-host Badminton Oceania.

Whether you are from the badminton community or not, or were present for one shift or every day, we are deeply appreciative of your time and efforts. Check out the full album of photos of our event team on Facebook. Feel free to download and share photos as you wish.


Event Director (Open Championships)

Craig Haydock (Badminton Victoria)

Event Director (Junior Championships)

Olivia Na (Badminton Victoria)

Referee (Open Championships)

Stephanie Ho (NCL)

Deputy Referee (Open Championships)

Lynne Nixey / Julie Carrel (NZL)

Referee (Junior Championships)

Sandra David (AUS)

Deputy Referee (Junior Championships)

Janice Cudby (NZL)

Line Judge Manager

Kay Coady (AUS)

Live-Streaming and Communications Manager

Tom Leonard (Badminton Oceania)

Badminton Victoria Communications Team - Olivia Na, Kah Meng Ho, Noryan Jimenez


Secretary General

Julie Carrel

Administration Manager

Lynne Nixey

Badminton Oceania Communications Manager

Tom Leonard

Badminton Oceania Coaching and Development Manager

Robbie Thackham

Badminton Oceania Coaching and Development Officer

Ian Bridge


BWF Certified

Susan Taylor (AUS)

Trish Gubb (NZL)

Jiten Bhatt (AUS)

Oceania Certificated

Justin Zuo (NZL)

David Turner (AUS)

Jean-Phillipe Berges (NZL)

Oceania Accredited

Kathryn Blencowe (AUS)

Joshua Ho (AUS)

Kelven Tsui (NZL)

Greg Pitcher (NZL)

Cynthia Tam (AUS)

National Certificated

Sheehan Lim (AUS)

Kevin Phillips (AUS)

Margaret Beakley (AUS)

Kenny Yew (AUS)

Richard Wong (AUS)

National Accredited

Jingran Liu (AUS)

Ravi Nandan (AUS)

Kah Seng Ong (AUS)

Lokendra Solanki (AUS)

David Cromie (AUS)

Nalin Nanayakkara (AUS)

Ru-wen Clarnette (AUS)


Santana Abdullah Brideen Allen Gina Andrews Colin Andrews Aldo Auleebux Rajini Balasuriya Nawan Banks Anne Chiodo Greg Clarnette Kay Coady Barbara Davie Val Dorling Pauline Eldred Valerie Everest Theda Faulwetter Lodi Francesconi Lesley French Margaret Galley Ron Gray Terry Hammond Vanda Hammond Janne Hardwick Alvern Ho Rocky Jiang Mary Jones Steve Li Matt Margerejo Pauline Martin Myrna Mizzi Rajeev Nair Yen Tien Ng Carol Perez Madhu Pokhrel Teresa Roberts Michelle Rowsell Geoff Skews Anneli Thuringer Duke Trench Thiedeman Bettina Williams Teya Wu


Match Control

Gillian Patmore

Peter Roberts

Peter Thatcher

Shuttle Control

Peter Brown

Gary Grierson

Player Marshall

Carolyn Billington

First Aid and Medic

Pinakin Godse


Bev Robotham

Eden Turner

Live Stream Data Entry

Joshua Ang Kiara Billington

Laura Billington

Stephanie Chung

Pat Daw Heng Ea Richi Gamage

Kah Meng Ho Noryan Jimenez Rishabh Kothari Kacie La Michelle Lac Jack Lee Malcolm Liu Anvesh Makey Victoria Na Ewan Scott Matt Simpson Lee Taylor Ryan Tong Duke Trench-Thiedeman Hee-Young Yang

Court Maintenance

Joshua Ang Kiara Billington Laura Billington Peter Brown Stephanie Chung Richi Gamage Kacie La