Badminton Victoria Life Membership and Service Awards at the 84th BV AGM

Thank you to these incredible ladies who were recognised for their outstanding contributions to badminton in Victoria over the last 10 years and more, at the 84th Badminton Victoria Annual General Meeting.

Badminton Victoria Life Member:

Tracey Ritchie (nee Small) - Eastern Ladies Badminton Association

Badminton Victoria Service Award Winners:

Lisa Bruns - Charlton Badminton Club Lenny Permana - Badminton Academy of Victoria Anneli Thuringer - Northern Ladies Badminton Association Janette Wain - Charlton Badminton Club

About Tracey Ritchie (nee Small) - Nomination by the Eastern Ladies Badminton Association

Introduced in badminton at 13 years of age Schoolgirls U17 Girls Singles Championships Winner – 1982 State representative in Junior U17, U18 and U21 Teams Victorian Junior Championships Girls Singles & Girls Doubles Winner – 1984 Robert Bruce Maxfield Perpetual Trophy Winner – 1985, 1986, 1987 and 1988 Cliff Cutt Memorial Trophy Winner - 1985 H. Roy Brady Memorial Trophy Winner 1988

Nomination by the Eastern Ladies Badminton Association

Commonwealth Games Bronze Medalist – 1986 Commonwealth Games representative – 1990

- First Female Captain of an Australia Team Australian Uber Cup team member in 1986, 1988, 1990

- Captain in 1990 Inducted in the Badminton Victoria Hall of Fame in 2002 2006 Queen’s Baton Relay Runner Current President on ELBA (since 2012)

About Lisa Bruns - Nomination by the Charlton Badminton Club

Lisa has been involved with the Charlton Badminton Club for nearly 25 years Served 5 years on the General Committee Spent 4 years assisting in the running of the Juniors Has assisted in the running of the Ladies Competition over the last 10 years Lisa continues to be an active member to this day

About Lenny Permana - Nomination by the Badminton Academy of Victoria (BAV)

Involvement in Coaching & Developing Junior Players since 2002 Involvement with Primary & Secondary School badminton coaching - East Doncaster (State Champions in 2015) - Serpell PS (All Victorian PS Champions 16 & 17) - Conducted badminton coaching at Kilsyth PS, St Charles Borromeo PS, St John Mitcham PS, Epping Views PS and South Morang PS Held positions of BV Junior Selector BA Junior Selector Is the current BA U15 National Junior Coach Victorian State Team Coach for U15, U17 and U19 in 2005 and 2006 Victorian State Team Coach for U13 in 2010, 2012, 2015 and 2017

About Anneli Thuringer - Nomination by the Northern Ladies Badminton Association

Anneli has served on the NLBA Committee for more than 10 years in varying roles Served on Match Committee and has been driving force in the development and implementation of the NLBA website Recently, Anneli had the pleasure of preparing NLBA’s new statement of rules and purposes

About Janette Wain - Nomination by the Charlton Badminton Club

Janette has been a member of the Charlton Badminton Club since she played juniors Since 2007, Janette has played an active role in the running of the Junior Competition Janette has been a Committee Member since 2011 Is the main person organising the Ladies Summer Competition and has always been willing to step in and do any job that may be required


Level 1, Melbourne Sports and Aquatic Centre (MSAC)

30 Aughtie Drive

Albert Park, Victoria, 3206

Phone: +61 3 9686 4777



For all court bookings at MSAC, call +61 3 9926 1555 or book online today.

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Flickr Social Icon
  • TikTok
  • Tumblr Social Icon